Connect with us


See who won the CCTC Fashion Forward student fashion show at ArtBreak 2024



Models strutted their stuff in unique fashions from some of Shreveport’s most creative students to an enthusiastic crowd during the third annual Fashion Forward student fashion show competition at the 2024 ArtBreak.

It was the final collections of the students enrolled in the fashion programs at the Caddo Career and Technology Center taught by fashion design teacher Cookie DuBois and fashion styling teacher Amy Lynn Treme.

“The fashion that was presented this year literally blew me away,” Treme said. “These kids are so innovative, creative, talented and determined.”

“One of the best things about Fashion Forward is the validation that these students receive for their hard work,” DuBois said. “I see parents crying and beaming in the crowd.”

DuBois teaches illustration, terminology, the business of fashion and sewing skills in class.

“Lots of my students take the class for fun, with no specific fashion aspirations, and leave with a gift of sewing that they share with others,” she said. “But, increasingly, my students use this class as a first step toward college and career.”

Treme sees fashion as wearable art.

“Fashion is a way to visibly express yourself to the world,” she said.

Both DuBois and Treme have competed in the Prize Fest’s Fashion Prize with their own collections.

“Fashion is the everyday art in our lives,” DuBois said. “It’s a form of expression that everyone can participate in.”

Shreveport Regional Arts Council and the Agora Borealis sponsored the CCTC fashion show and provided the prizes to the winning students.

The 13 designers who participated with three to six looks in the competition were Myjhai Sears from Caddo Magnet, Elizabeth Gilmer from C.E. Byrd, Ellie Havens from Captain Shreve, Sophia DeLeon from C.E. Byrd, Rowdy Mazyck from Captain Shreve, Jonathan Emery from Caddo Magnet, Shamariyana Culpepper from Huntington, Mary Sistrunk from C.E. Byrd, Lola Guzman from C.E. Byrd, Leann Booth from C.E. Byrd, Justin Jowers from Caddo Magnet, Lydia Boudreaux from Captain Shreve and Max Dean from Caddo Magnet.

Each collection was judged on technical ability, styling, creativity and cohesiveness by representatives from local fashion schools at BPCC, Northwestern and Louisiana Tech.

“They are able to scout students for their programs and potentially provide scholarships,” DuBois said.

“I will never, and I mean never, get over last night,” Treme said in a Facebook post. “Watching these students work so hard all school year and then see the light in their eyes and smiles as their collection walks the runway, is what teaching is all about.”

“Tears of pride and joy for my beautiful and amazing students,” DuBois wrote in her own post. “You all inspire me to be a better teacher, designer and person in general.”

Winners were:

For Single Design

  • Thailia Steveson of C.E. Byrd High School 

For the Collection Showcase

  • In third place was Justin Jowers of Caddo Magnet High School with his collection called Fairy Soiree.
  • In second place was Rowdy Mazyck of Captain Shreve High School with his collection called Normal Isn’t.
  • In first place, as well as People’s Choice, was Ellie Havens of Captain Shreve High School with Bury a Friend.

Continue Reading