Connect with us


Here are the trendsetters who make up Bessemer City Sports Hall of Fame’s 2024 class



Here are the trendsetters who make up Bessemer City Sports Hall of Fame’s 2024 class

The Bessemer City Sports Hall of Fame will induct its 2024 class as part of a banquet July 26 at First Wesleyan Church of Bessemer City.

Among the honorees are the 1961 and 1962 Bessemer City High baseball teams led by legendary coach Jackson “Ace” Parker, as well as coach Bob Noblett and former Yellow Jacket athletes Wanda Brown, Mark Toney and Shane Whitlock. The event will also recognize Tweety Stewart as its “2024 Fan of the Year” 

University of South Carolina deputy athletic director Charles Waddell will serve as guest speaker for the occasion.

Festivities begin at 5 p.m. with a meet-and-greet, followed by dinner at 6 p.m. Tickets are $25 and can be purchased at Bessemer City’s city hall annex and the Allan Farris Community Center. For more information, call 704-629-5111.

Here’s more on this year’s inductees.

2023 INDUCTION CLASS: Renowned coach Gary Adams headlines 2023 Bessemer City Sports Hall of Fame class

2022 INDUCTION CLASS: Phillip Crosby and coaching legends headline Bessemer City 2022 Sports Hall of Fame class

1961 and 1962 Bessemer City baseball teams

Led by coach Jackson “Ace” Parker, the Yellow Jackets claimed back-to-back Little 6 tournament titles, knocking off nearby Stanley in a single-game playoff in 1961 and sweeping their best-of-3 series the following year.

Wanda Brown

Brown is the first Bessemer City girls basketball player to score 1,000 points, accomplishing the feat in Jan. 1980 against Maiden. She finished with 1,114 career points, helping the Yellow Jackets to three straight playoff appearances.

Bob Noblett

A multi-sport athlete during his time at Bessemer City High, the 1949 graduate later gained acclaim as the school’s girls basketball coach. In 1958, he led the Yellow Jackets to three straight upset wins, including a 41-35 victory over Stanley in the Little 7 final. Three years later, Bessemer City won its first regular-season title under his watch, going 9-3 and sharing the crown with Tryon.

Mark Toney

Toney left school as Gaston County’s all-time wins leader (33), a mark since surpassed by North Gaston’s Jack Buchanan who finished with 34. His 1986 campaign was particularly noteworthy, going 15-1 and helping Bessemer City finish as NCHSAA 2A state runner-up.

Shane Whitlock

Whitlock left an indelible mark on Bessemer City football, the 2005 product still holding school records for career rushing yards (4,458), single-season rushing yards (2,404 yards in 2004), career points (310) and single-season points (136). He helped the Yellow Jackets to 22 wins during his four-year career, the team qualifying for postseason play each season.

Continue Reading